Beautiful Traditional Indian Wedding

by

There is something about tradition that makes every guest happy at a Wedding….

Even if you are not from the same ethnic group or religion, if you are lucky enough to attend one of this ceremonies you will be absorbed by tradition and culture. And when the mood is set properly,  love is on the air and the atmosphere is created with the right lighting, it makes you feel like time has stopped and you have traveled miles away into some magical place.

This morning, Tom Benitez from the Orlando Sentinel happily-joyfully surprised me with this beautiful count of events of  bride  Radhika “Radha” Vipin Mehta , and groom Mahesh Narayanaswamy. They married on Sunday and were accompanied by family members and friends at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress in Orlando. Nearly 500 guests attended the elaborate traditional Indian wedding ceremony. Check out this beautiful pictures and amazing decoration. For more pictures, you can go to more of Tom’s pics at   http://tinyurl.com/29gw9e6

The groom rides an elephant accompanied by family  and friends as a part of the wedding procession before his vows

According to Hindu religious texts, Brahma created man from the right shoulder and woman from his left shoulder. A woman is referred to as Vamangi or one who is on the left side. Throughout the marriage ceremony the bride sits on the right side of the groom. That is the place for strangers and acquaintances. Only after the Saptpadi, when the bride and groom have exchanged marital vows, is the wife sealed on the left side of the man.

Bride and groom are told about their duties and responsibilities in married life by priest.These vows direct the couple to a positive path of action. They help in promoting marital happiness for a lifetime.

Vows by the Husband

  1. I will consider my wife to be The better half. I will look after her just as I look after myself.
  2. Accepting her as in-charge of the my home, I shall plan things in consultation with her.
  3. I will never express dissatisfaction about any shortcomings in my wife. If there are any, I will explain them to her lovingly. I will support her in overcoming them.
  4. I will always have faith in my wife. I will never look at another woman with wrong intent, nor have an illicit relationship.
  5. I will be affectionate and treat my wife like a friend.
  6. I’ll bring home all my income to my wife. The household expenses will be incurred with her consent. I will always make an effort to ensure her comfort and happiness.
  7. I will not find fault or critical my wife before others. We will sort out our differences and mistakes in privacy by ourselves.
  8. I will have a courteous and tolerant attitude towards my wife. I will always follow a compromising policy.
  9. If my wife is unwell, or is unable to fulfill some of the responsibilities or through some misunderstanding behaves wrongly, I will not withdraw support or refuse to fulfill my responsibilities towards her.

This is a perfect example of what lighting and fabric can create.  Magical!!!!

Many of the wedding customs are common among the Hindus, Jains, Sikhs and even Muslims. They are a combination of local, religions and family traditions. Wedding traditions vary across religion, caste, ethnicity, language, region, etc. Traditional Indian weddings are generally structured into pre-wedding  ceremonies, wedding day ceremonies (consisting of the Baraat, the Varmala and the Phere), and the Vidaai.

During kanyadaan, the bride’s parents give their daughter away in marriage. The groom makes three promises – to be just (dharma), earn sufficiently to support his family, (artha) and love his wife (kama). He repeats these vows thrice in the presence of Agni (the sacred fire) and all who are gathered there.

Bariksha is when the bride’s parents have informally shown intentions that they want a particular groom, and the groom and his family have agreed. Retracting at the end of this stage is frowned upon but is acceptable.

Tilak involves the bride’s parents traveling to the groom’s place to formalize the relationship. A large feast is organized by the groom’s family to celebrate this occasion. Only a nominal number of members of the bride’s family are present (usually only very close relatives, often in tens of numbers. Typically, the female marriage proposal is very rare.

Byaha Haath: This ceremony signifies the purifying of the mind, body and soul of bride and groom. This daytime ceremony prepares both of them for the nuptials. ‘Uptan’ is a mixed paste of sandalwood, turmeric and rose water which is applied by seven unmarried female members of the families and to the faces, hands and feet of the bride and groom. After this ceremony the bride and the groom are not allowed to step outside the house before the actual wedding.

For happy, joyful events, check us out

www.hippojoy.com



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Beautiful Traditional Indian Wedding”

  1. A dream wedding in Florida (Florida marriage) « Bridesmaid Dresses For Special You Says:

    […] Beautiful Traditional Indian Wedding « Hippojoy's Blog […]

  2. Capsiplex Says:

    hello, clicked from yahoo to your blog and it looked strange but after refresh everything displayed normal. Just thought id let you know and keep up the good work

  3. derric Says:

    I usually don’t comment on websites but this one is so relevant and well put together that I just had to stop and say,GREAT WEBSITE.

  4. Phen375 Says:

    It’s too hard to find things you are looking for these days unlike this page, thankx

  5. Big Savings Plans Says:

    I don’t usually comment but I gotta admit thankyou for the post on this amazing one : D.

  6. Lowes Ceiling Fans Says:

    Lowes Ceiling Fans…

    […]Beautiful Traditional Indian Wedding « Hippojoy's Blog[…]…

  7. flavourful recipes written by manju Says:

    flavourful recipes written by manju…

    […]Beautiful Traditional Indian Wedding « Hippojoy's Blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

